Karate Alliance of Australia

In 2001 Keith Geyer, Chief Instructor of the JKA-SKC Australasia, formed the Karate Alliance of Australia with the purpose of taking teams to WKC World Championship Tournaments.

The Karate Alliance of Australia is an ‘All-Styles Karate Body’ affiliated to the World Karate Confederation

A KAA team first competed in a world championship in Aberdeen, Scotland in 2001. Since then teams from Australia have competed in many WKC Championships in all parts of the world, with excellent results.

WKC world events were recently hosted by Fort Lauderdale, Novo mesto, Italy, Czech Republic, Lithuania and Latvia.

Most world organizations only accept one entry per country per section; therefore many karate-ka do not have the opportunity to ever enter a world championship. The WKC offers an unlimited number of entries per country therefore no one is excluded.

WKC accepts the following four main karate styles.

  • Goju Ryu
  • Shito Ryu
  • Shotokan
  • Wado Ryu

At the WKC World Championships there are separate kata events for those four main styles. In kumite events, two systems are used. Shobu Ippon with open weight category and Shobu Sanbon with three weight categories. All kumite events are multi-style.

Any Australian karateka who would like more information about the Karate Alliance Australia are asked to contact us directly through this website.